81st: How to make studded/spiked shorts? DIY project

Have you seen the not-so-latest trend? You know what I’m talking about since my title just gave it to you… the high-waisted studded/spiked denim shorts! What I love about this trend is the “distressed, rugged, you-don’t-care-how-you-look” look that you get at the end. lol You can basically wear anything with it – sheer blouse, t-shirt, tank top, corset, bandeau- but you will still get that “chic effect” at the end.

I’ve been looking for studded shorts for quite a while now, and I couldn’t find a store that sells one (what’s new about that, Calgary?). When I went to Forever21, I saw this denim cut-off shorts and I immediately thought of doing a DIY. So let’s begin, shall we?

Oooh. Okay, sorry. I seriously forgot to take a “before picture” of the shorts so the following photos would be the one with studs and spikes in it.

I think the first step in doing this DIY is to have an idea of what you want for your shorts. For me, I was thinking of Rihanna’s spiked shorts. So I would suggest you do your research first.

Next after you know what you want to do, you gather your supplies.

You need a pair of denim shorts, or whatever you want to use for your “experiment”.

denim shorts: Forever 21 ($23)

Now, you of course need studs and spikes. I got mine from ebay since I’ve figured out that ebay has everything. I tried looking for a supplier here in Calgary, but too bad I can’t find one. So save the hassle, and use ebay. It took about 2 weeks though to arrive.

If I can remember it right… nope. I can’t remember the price. lol sorry. I just know it’s less than $4 for 50 pieces of studs then about $6-8 for the spikes (size matters.. I mean for the price. lol)

I actually chose the smallest size spikes since I was kinda scared that I would hurt people when I sit beside them. lol Ahmmm, yeah they do hurt!

As you can see on the far right, the spikes have two parts.. the screw and the spike (cone) itself. One the other hand, the studs do have four “spiky” feet that you just have to place it where you want to put it on the denim, then push the feet, then “secure” it by pressing the feet. lol I’m pretty sure you didn’t get what I was trying to say. I’ll demonstrate it later.

So first, you make a whole but since denim (especially the high quality ones) is not really easy to tear, use something sharp or pointy, better you use something with both.

Then you insert the (omg I don’t know the term) “screw”, then you close it with the spike. HAHAH.

Do you get what I’m trying to say? Sorry it is so hard to explain.

So basically this is how it looks on the inside part of the shorts.

While this is how it looks outside

Now for the studs…

I will stop talking. I think I just make it more complicated when I explain the procedure. Just look at the photos. hahaha

The four spikey feet!

This is how it looks on the other side, then just lock it by pressing the feet down… like this…

I will post a outfit picture with that! I do not want to wear shorts right now since I haven’t worked out for 2 weeks. The bad thing about working out i if you don’t continue, you gain a lot of weight if you don’t control your cravings. I was so sad when I weighed myself. I gained 5 lbs in less than 2 weeks. Blame my “palamig, ice scramble” (all sweet Filipino drink). I hate how I have to attend an event this Friday. sigh. Whatever. Who cares?! lol

Watch out for the final look of the shorts, since I’m still finishing it. lol Also, you can dye your shorts if you want to. Try it and tell me how it went! 🙂

Tagged , , , ,

15 thoughts on “81st: How to make studded/spiked shorts? DIY project

  1. Michi Rezin says:

    Awesome tutorial!

  2. Dee says:

    This blog was really helpful! I want to try myself too.. Except i have one question. Will the studs come off in the wash? Or you recommend handwash only? Thanks

  3. tatterrag says:

    The way you write is so energetic! Love it! And a fabulous tutorial too! I might stud my Doc Martens! ❤

  4. I LOVE THE STUDS!!! (And your nails). I cannot wait to try this technique on jeans for fall. Thanks for the fabulous idea!

  5. I was thinking of getting some studs to customise a bag or something 🙂 I was a bit worried about the square studs in the wash (’cause they’re only attached by tiny prongs!) but I’m glad you’ve said they’re fine – think I’m gonna need to do an order xx

  6. Alena says:

    How many studs did it take? And did you have any left over?

  7. Where did you buy the studs and spikes?

Leave a Reply

