The very simple DIY necklace

Yeheeey, it’s Friday!!! Don’t you love Fridays? As a Seventh-day Adventist, I love Fridays because that’s the time when we just meditate and just “rest.” You want to know more about my religious belief? πŸ™‚ I’ll skip that for now. Another reason why I love Fridays is that I get to spend the night with my in-laws! I love my in-laws and seriously I’m very lucky to have them. They take care of my little son, baby sits when I have test, they have the best Filipino foods, ooohh and they have good-looking genes!

Anyways, since it’s the weekend I realize I should do a DIY, and this week I’ll do a DIY necklace! This is inspired by the great jewelry designer Ericson Manansala. I will post his Facebook url here next time so keep checking! He sponsors Shaina Magdayao, Ruffa G, Yeng Constantino, and a lot more.

This is very easy, I actually spent $1.50 dollars doing this (even way cheaper if I buy what I need from the Philippines). So here it goes.

All you need is an old shirt and a scissor. I actually forgot to take a picture with the CHAIN. So yeah, you also need a CHAIN.

Cut the shirt horizontally to get strips. You decide how many strips you want.

Hold the two ends, and STREEEETCCCHHHH them apart!

Stretch them one by one to make sure they’re fully stretched. (That was an awkward sentence! lol)

Β To know that they’ve been stretched nicely, they should be “rolling inwards”

You’ll see what I’m talking about once you do it. πŸ™‚

Then stretch them all apart

Cut both sides of each strand (seams) to have something like this:

Then get your chain, make sure that your chains diameter is big enough to tie the cloth strands on it.

Now, just tie the strands while make sure that you’re following a systemic pattern.

something like this. You see how they’re both tied on the same side of the chain, also same way of tying it? Yes, you have to be that concise! πŸ™‚ I’m skipping a chain first, do this so it’s not that confusing. Do one side first, then the next after.

See here how they have the same knot? πŸ™‚

You’re getting there! Now just do the chains you’ve missed. Lay the chain flat first to make sure you’re doing it in a pattern.

When you’re done tying all of them, cut the end of the knots. πŸ™‚

AND HERE’S YOUR FINAL NECKLACE!!!!!!!!

YAAAYYYY!!!!!

See how simple that was? I made it really simple, but you can make it more complicated if you want to. :))

Also, cut the end of the necklace to your desire length.

Here’s another one I did in which I combined two different shirt colors. πŸ™‚

For this one, I used two strand per chain since I didn’t want gaps between the strands. You can do that as well. Also, I made the dark blue ones short and the lighter ones very long. I’ll make an outfit for this blue one soon! πŸ™‚

So now, you’ve something to do this weekend! Just look for a shirt that you have no plans in using again and just follow these procedures! πŸ™‚

I’ll be posting how this accessory can make just a basic outfit really stand out! I’ll post it in an hour so watch out for that!

HAVE A GOOD FRIDAY, guys! πŸ™‚

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “The very simple DIY necklace

  1. S. Singh says:

    Love it! I was expecting that t-shirt necklace everyone does, but this was really unique!!

    ~S

  2. […] necklace: DIY (click here for tutorial) wedges: GOLD […]

Leave a Reply

